To-Do List

• Choose a real cool, unique, amazing slogan.

• Finish the next chapter.

• Finish the new book cover I’m working on.

• Create a new Custom Header for the site with the slogan in it.

• Finish the ‘Love Drunk’ outtake that I still haven’t completed.

• Make a ‘Book Covers’ page and link to it from ‘The Story’ page.

• Resize the first book cover to make my ‘Book Covers’ page look neater.

• Do a proper links page with picture URLs.

So, as you can see, I’m very busy. That checklist above is only the ‘I’m Not Okay (I Promise)’ related things that I need to do. I haven’t mentioned my homework or the stacks of CDs I have in my room that need to be added to my iTunes library or the list that still needs to be started of CDs I have to borrow from my dad. So, yeah … Thankfully, I have a whole week off next week so I’m sure I can complete many of these things (Although, don’t hold your breath of the outtake).

Also, I get distracted very easily. I must’ve opened the page for a new post about … more than an hour ago, let’s put it that way. I have Bebo, Facebook and Twitter open so I am very distracted indeed ^^

So, about the new book cover; I have done a book cover for ‘I’m Not Okay (I Promise)’ before but I figured that I needed to use a new image for it. I mean, I’ve used the same image for all three soundtrack covers and countless of other banners, links etc. and I wanted to use the same one again for the book cover?! That’s madness. The picture is already beginning to get boring so I’ve had to choose my second favourite and start work trying to make that cover. I’m just in the middle of choosing a good slogan. I’ve got a few so far, but I can’t help but feel that they’re a bit cliché:

Love won’t save you…

Lovesick with no happiness.

Love won’t conquer all…

As you can see, they all start with love which, for some reason, puts me off it slightly. I mean, yeah, ‘I’m Not Okay (I Promise)’ is a romance but it’s not just about love. It’s about Summer’s relationship with her drug-addicted mother; Summer’s struggle to get over her father’s suicide; The general behaviour of teenagers; different types of affection; loss. Okay, yeah, it’s mostly about Summer and Edward – about falling in love with someone who’s just as messed-up as you are and how you deal with everything that’s thrown at you because of that. It’s about finding a person who can save you from yourself but there’s so much more to it than that.

It’s not just a typical romance – it’s angst-ridden and emotional. Maybe a bit over-the-top, but there you go. I’m not gonna underplay it – this is what life is like for some people. I don’t crowd around them and beg for a quote like some lame paparazzi – I make up situations and make it so it’s incredibly hard to deal with them. I don’t do it on purpose to piss readers off. My characters to it all.

So, anyway. That was my rant about the slogans which quickly turned into a moan about my story. Anyway, I’m gonna stop here and actually get some of this To-Do List done. You’ll probably see a few more of these in the future seeing as I love lists.

But let’s keep out head in the present, yeah?

In a few secs, I’m gonna do another post with basic stuff like page numbers and word counts but for those of you who aren’t interested in that, I’ll also be posting the original book cover which I’ve had to scrap. It’ll be going onto the book cover page but I’ll never use it probably.

For those of you who do care about figures though, you should go and follow me on Twitter. In fact, even if you don’t care about figures, follow anyway. I find myself quite interesting, personally O_O


0 Responses to “To-Do List”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

I do not own any of the images posted on this website but I am unable to trace them back to their original source. If your image is being used here somewhere and you would like it taken down or to be credited for it, please contact me: sammi.drake@googlemail.com
I'M NOT OKAY (I PROMISE): a novel by SAMANTHA DRAKE

© Samantha Jay Drake and I'm Not Okay (I Promise), 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Samantha Jay Drake and I'm Not Okay (I Promise) with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

To get instant updates when chapters are posted, enter your email address in the box below!

Join 13 other followers

I'm Not Okay (I Promise) On Bebo
The Author On Tumblr
I'm Not Okay (I Promise) On Twitter

Archives

Page Protected By Copyscape. Do Not Copy.

